Silver Borne

Briggs, Patricia. Silver Borne (2010). 342 Pages. Penguin. $24.95

Mercy Thompson: Book Five

Please be aware that there are spoilers for the first four books in this series. Proceed at your own risk.

I’ve been waiting for this book since I first figured out that you can put books on hold through the library. Every few days I would creep further up the queue, until I was finally able to pick it up. When I did, I momentarily debated re-reading the other books in the series, before deciding that it would be silly to waste any time. Of all the supernatural fiction, there are only a few authors I really enjoy, and Patricia Briggs is one of them. I’m going to review this one out of order, because I read it without re-reading the others, and because it’s due at the library.

I’ll say right now that I enjoyed it a lot, but it had a sense of finality at the end which had me asking “Is this the last book in the series?” It’s not, by the way. There are a lot of urban fantasy novels out there, and a lot of them are very “Meh.” This is not one of those series. Nor is it one of those series where you find yourself wondering why you’re still reading, because it’s become so formulaic and you don’t really give a damn.

No, Mercy Thompson is not really a badass, but she’s strong, and she’s healing from everything she was put through in the preceding volume. She’s still nervous, things still set her off, and despite it all she’s moving on. Adam (her boyfriend, her mate, and her alpha) is incredibly understanding, and tries hard to be careful with her feelings. Their relationship is still shaky, but it’s growing, and it’s a solid, functional one.*

A lot can be said about Mercy and Adam. The way their relationship grows is one of the major story arcs– Mercy was sort of thrust into the position of Mate, and was yanked into the pack without preparation. She doesn’t quite know what to do with herself, or the way her bond with Adam seems to intrude on so much of her life. By contrast, Adam knows she belongs, and doesn’t know how to deal with her seeming rejection of him. It’s an interesting, well-written primary plot.

The next story-arc involves Samuel; he’s an old wolf, and he’s lost his will to live. But things with Samuel aren’t simple, and Mercy is not the only one keeping Samuel alive. His story grows more in this volume, and by the end it feels like we know significantly more about him.

The plot which is unique to this volume revolves around a Fae artifact. Mercy gets a call from Tad (Zee’s son), mentioning a fae artifact which she has borrowed, and which she is told to “take care of.” Though this is the main plot of the novel, I found myself more enthralled with the other two stories which weave through this installment.

The story is fast-paced, well-written, and completely satisfying. It concludes on a very solid note, which seems final (but per the author’s website) is not. Briggs is talented, and writes truly amazing stories which succeed in grabbing and holding the reader from the first page to the very last. They’re satisfying, and keep  you wanting more (without being cliff-hangers).

The Quick Version:

This book was amazing. I picked it up, and could not put it back down for anything. About four hours later, I’d run through the book and was feeling very satisfied. Mercy manages to adapt while staying true to herself, and actually seems to learn from her mistakes. She’s unique, fun, and is perhaps one of my favorite heroines. Adam, too, is an awesome Love Interest, and I think he complements her well. The book gets a 5/5, because I❤ it.

_______________________________________

* I enjoy reading about functional relationships.

5 Comments

Filed under Adult Fiction, Chick-Lit, Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Romance, Urban Fantasy

5 responses to “Silver Borne

  1. I haven’t read your review because I am about to start the first book, but I saw you gave 5/5 so I am confident it will be SPECIAL

    Like

  2. bethanyasouza

    I’m definitely going to check this series out. One of my close friends loves Patricia Briggs and haven’t read her. The series looks cool though.

    Like

  3. Oceans

    I remember when I read the first book in the series. It started out a bit slow, but I really loved it by the end.

    I think I need to order the series again since you loved this latest one. That is once I am under the limit of books on request at the local library!

    Like

Leave a Reply

