Book Blogger Appreciation Week

As I’m sure most of my readers know (because most of you are book bloggers yourselves) this is Book Blogger Appreciation Week. Sure, it started on Monday, and sure, most of you have been posting daily, but I have not. So I’m condensing this down a little, because I’m: a) behind b) lazy. So here’s Days 1-4.

Day 1: First Treasures

The first book blog I discovered was Jenny’s Books, which is of course brilliant. Jenny is one of those bloggers who somehow manages to tell us about herself, her life, and the latest book all at once, and she does it with style and a great sense of humor. There are countless others who I read whenever they update (Emily & Her Little Pink Notes, and Lit Snit , to name the first few) and if I tried to name them all, we’d be here a while. There are a lot of interesting blogs, featuring people whose personalities shine through in their reviews, who manage to say things far more cleverly than I could ever manage (even on my best of days), who have (understandably) large followings, and who I wish I could be more like. So hooray for Book Blogger Appreciation Week, for making us take a moment to truly appreciate the people who write such fabulous reviews about such interesting books.

Day 2: Blogger Interviews

I’m skipping this because I am (again) a) lazy and b) behind.

Day 3: Unexpected Treasures

I haven’t actually picked up any new genres, but there are a few books I chose to read because of the bloggers who reviewed them.

For example, I grabbed Beastly because of the review on The Book Scoop, or maybe alita reads, or both. I finally broke down and bought Shiver at the suggestion of Bethany from The Musings of a Book Nerd. There are others I know I’ve grabbed because of other bloggers, but I can’t for the life of me recall which books from who. Ah, well. All of you folks I read have reviewed at least a few things which have been added to what feels like a miles-long to-be-read list.

Day 4: Forgotten Treasures

There are a couple books I’ve reviewed which were brilliant, and I adored, but which don’t seem to have much of a following. For example: Toads and Diamonds, which is a great fairytale retelling by a relatively new author. There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot out there about it, but it’s definitely worth the time it takes to read it (not only because it has such a beautiful cover.) The other book which seems to have slid under the radar is The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet, which was excellent and a very fun read. It’s silly, a bit dorky, and well worth the time.

________________________________________

To close the post, I’m going to mention that I have a giveaway going on, which will be open until September 30th! So please, take the time to enter!

24 Comments

Filed under Not a Book Review

24 responses to “Book Blogger Appreciation Week

  1. Is it really book blogger week? OOps, I had no idea!

    I’ve not posted all week.

    http://tomcatintheredroom.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • I would have missed Book Blogger week completely if left to my own devices, but I couldn’t help noticing the many, many, many posts dedicated to it which have appeared over the last several days. (Maybe it just seems like there are so many because I read them all at once?)

      Like

  2. There are many, that’s a fact but I am loving them all, I really should read Beastly, everybody keeps talking about how good this book is and bloggers are usually right about those things . Thanks for mentioning my blog🙂

    Like

    • If you have the time, I would suggest Beastly because it was surprisingly good. Bloggers are very frequently right, except when there’s too much hype. (This isn’t one of those times.) I think you would enjoy it, because you do like YA books.

      Like

  3. A condensed version of BBAW is a good way to do it. I’ll have to look up all those books because I haven’t heard of them.

    Like

  4. Toads and Diamonds is already in my wishlist! I’m always up for retellings and I love that it has an Asian feel, I don’t get to read a lot of books like that.

    Like

  5. Thanks for mentioning us. I quite enjoy checking reading your blog.

    Like

  6. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Beastly, and I’m happy to hear you loved it as well!

    Like

    • I wasn’t expecting to love it when I picked it up. I figured “eh, it should be good…” and then I started reading it, and wow. I enjoy coming across books like that.

      Like

  7. Oh, gosh, I’m so flattered! You are lovely too!

    Like

  8. This single post is a clever way to handle the BBAW topics!

    Like

  9. The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet sounds really interesting (and love the title)…looking into it!

    Like

  10. YAY! Glad you bought Shiver. You’ll love it! Thanks for the mention.🙂

    Like

  11. Thanks for the mention! I liked Beastly. I’m interested to check out her new one about the Frog Prince. It’s hard to make fairy tales modern, but I think she does a great job!

    Like

    • New one about the Frog Prince? I’ll have to look into that.

      Moving fairytales from the past, or from “far far away” (not the Shrek one) can be difficult, and can sometimes backfire. She managed to do a fairly good job with that.

      Like

  12. Hey, thanks for the shout out to my blog. I’m glad to see that my review might have played a part in finding its way onto your TBR list. That book was such a good one and I adored it! I’m anxiously awaiting Cloaked. I hope its just as good.

    Happy BBAW!

    Like

Leave a Reply

