Sneak-Peek

There are two different blogger memes that I’ve noticed recently, – Alita.Reads participates in Mailbox Monday (started by Marcia at The Printed Page, and hosted for October by Avis at She Reads and Reads) and Chachic participates in In My Mailbox (hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren)*

The sentiment of both is the same; take a moment to consider the books you’ve received or bought during the past week. I hear it can be hard to participate, because you inevitably get sucked into other people’s lists, and you end up really wanting a lot more books.

I’m modifying both (a little) and not participating in a pure way. I’ve got some upcoming reviews, and I went and got a few more books.

Today, for example, I received April Lindner’s Jane from the ladies at LitSnit. I couldn’t help reading a bit of it already (despite the fact that I have forbidden myself to start any new books until I complete reviews for all the books I have recently finished). I also got a nifty gift-card for Borders from someone, and couldn’t help spending it (and then some) picking up The Eternal Kiss anthology and Diana Peterfreund’s Rampant. I also grabbed Gail Carriger’s Changeless, though I’ve gotten the impression from some reviews/discussion that I may not like some upcoming plot**.

I am working on coming to a solid opinion on Kiss Me Deadly, because it was mostly very, very good, but there were a few that left me unsure of how I felt.

I was going to get Linger today, but I am not sure I want to read it because I have a) heard rumors of a cliffhanger, and I loathe those, and b) am of the opinion that there is going to be an awful lot of upcoming angst. I hate moping. It’s unproductive and frustrating to read.

Regardless, I’ll be giving these a try.

______________________________________________

* There seem to be an awful lot of female book bloggers. Is that just because females are more likely to read the same genres as me, or is it really because there are more female bloggers than male?

** I am not a fan of marital angst. Beware, here be spoilers: nor am I a fan of things which are stupidly easy to predict. As soon as I heard that she was kicked out, I went “oh, she’s pregnant, and he forgot that she makes him human, so he thinks it can’t be his” which is stupid, because he was so smart in the first one that it’s hard to reconcile. I’m getting mixed reviews on the second and third books, and wonder if I should leave it alone at book 1 instead of risking more. End spoiler, highlight to read. I apologize to anyone who may inadvertently see this anyway.

4 Comments

Filed under Not a Book Review

4 responses to “Sneak-Peek

  1. I really want to read Jane but I want to read Jane Eyre first before I do that. Yes, I haven’t read that well-beloved classic.😛 I might not read Linger until Forever comes out since I liked where Shiver ended anyway and I don’t like cliffhanger endings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

