The Agony of Galleys…

I doubt I’m the only one who has trouble waiting to say nice things about a book.

Yet, here I am, waiting. Because the publishers request that you wait until within 2 weeks of publication to post reviews. Considering Mastiff isn’t out until October, and Centauriad isn’t out until January, I find that difficult to honor. Still, it gives me time to give the reviews a bit more polish and, in the case of Mastiff, perhaps trim a little of my fangirling, and review the first two books in the series.

So, how do you guys wait to publish reviews, when you’re super excited about the book you just read?

8 Comments

Filed under Not a Book Review

8 responses to “The Agony of Galleys…

  1. Literary Nymph

    I tend not to hold back. I get so excited when I’ve just finished a book I really like, I can’t wait to share.

    Like

    • On the one hand, I really want to be like “OMG it’s awesome!” and write all about that… on the other hand, the second book– Centauriad– doesn’t come out until January, and I feel like posting a review *this* early would be doing it a disservice.

      Like

  2. Mia

    This is why I don’t read galleys! Or so I say. I have a galley that I’m waiting to read, but NetGalley doesn’t actually have any requirements listed for the publisher, which makes me feel weird. Should I avoid writing a review once I’ve read it because I don’t know if the publishers will be mad or not?

    Like

    • Nah. If they haven’t listed requirements, assume it’s fair game. Be brave.😀

      Generally, it’s all about the publicity, which is why they give them out in the first place.

      Like

  3. I write it as soon as possible and then schedule the post for the appropriate date. But then I get super excited for the day the post will publish, and when it finally does it is never as eloquent as I remember it being.

    Like

  4. Ela

    I’ve never been in that position, thankfully! But I feel for you (I do like Tamora Pierce’s books), and I’m sure will read ‘Mastiff’ when it properly comes out.

    Like

    • I’m really looking forward to a chance to re-read it and see if they’ve made any significant changes.

      (Also, Mastiff? Amazing. But there are one or two things which were not wrapped to my satisfaction.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

