Welcome to 2012

My resolution? Not a big one. Just to update at least once a week.

Lets see how long that lasts. I haven’t been reading much lately. I attribute it to a combination of video games (Skyrim, anyone?) and work. Still, I’ve read a bit, and will be trying hard to translate that into reviews. Wish me luck.

While we’re here though, lets chat a bit, shall we?

Which books to be released in 2012 are you most excited for? I’d love to hear your answers!

On more personal notes, I’d just like to say thanks for sticking around if you’re still reading. It’s been a mixed bag of good and bad for the end of the year. I quit one job, got promoted at another, lost my estranged step-brother, survived the holidays, worried about my little sister who had to have surgery, tried not to meddle with my younger brother’s choices, and generally got through things unharmed.

On a very positive note, we also got cats. Hooray cats!  Meet Patrick and Isobel. They were found abandoned in a back yard when they were kittens, and luckily for them they were taken in by a local rescue, where we found them.

Isobel is the white one– a “dilute tortie point” which means that she’s mostly cream with patches of gray and orange. She’s a sweetheart, and enjoys curling up in front of my monitor while I play games and browse the internet.

Patrick is the gray one. He’s outgoing and demanding and loves to groom Isobel, which would be fine if he wasn’t so slobbery.

My two demons (Who are 9 months old tomorrow) are adorable and fun to be around. They make a lot of things better.

10 Comments

Filed under Not a Book Review

10 responses to “Welcome to 2012

  1. Mia

    I’m going to try and get myself to update once a week over at Nisaba Be Praised as well! I’ve been reading plenty, just too lazy/busy to write any of that up. But that will change, I demand it of myself!

    I don’t know too much about the books that are coming out this year, except I am extremely excited for Black Heart to come out. Casselllllll! Lilaaaaaa! I tried reading Tithe, but it really just didn’t do it for me.

    Like

    • I haven’t even thought about attempting Tithe. I’ve been looking at stuff on goodreads, and have found a few books to be really excited about. I just hope I remember them around their publication dates.

      Like

  2. Aw, your kitties seem lovely. I’m totally a cat person and would have a dozen of them if it weren’t for allergies/ non-pet building/ non-pet husband. Sorry to hear that the last bit of 2011 was so difficult for you, hopefully 2012 will be a billion times better.

    Like

    • 2012 has to be better, if only because 2011 ended so poorly in so many ways that it’s not hard to beat. Still, I’ve gone through worse, and probably will in the future so I’m trying hard to be grateful now. Thanks for the well wishes.

      My cats are excellent, and I’m glad for them every time they do something silly which makes me laugh. My boyfriend and I definitely took our time getting cats, because they’re a major commitment. Luckily, our apartment allows pets, and while he’s mildly allergic, it’s not bad enough to be off-putting, and we both really like cats.

      Like

  3. Look at those beautiful cats! How exciting, they’re adorable!

    Like

  4. I am excited for Meg Cabot’s Underworld. It’s book 2 of her Abandon trilogy, that plays on the story of Hades and Persephone. The first book was amazing so I’m excited for the second. I’m sure there’s more books that I just can’t think of on the top of my head.

    Like

    • I’ve been seeing a lot of YA Hades/Persephone stories recently. That’s so strange.

      You’re a big Meg Cabot fan, right? Which one’s your very favorite of hers?

      Like

  5. How about a list of ‘Books I stayed up all night to read’? LOL

    I find myself falling asleep with the Kindle you bought me in hand. I love that I no longer lose my place in a book!

    Like

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I still manage to lose my place with my kindle when I attempt to be clever and put it someplace stupid where the page buttons can get hit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

